Address: 2 Lenin Avenue, Gomel, 246050, Belarus
Main News Economy


Belarusian, Ukrainian oil transportation companies extend Mozyr-Brody cooperation agreement

MINSK, 23 May (BelTA) - The Belarusian company OAO Gomeltransneft Druzhba and the Ukrainian company PAO Ukrtransnafta have extended the agreement on cooperation and interaction with a view to effectively using the system of long-distance oil pipelines Druzhba in the Mozyr-Brody section, BelTA learned from Andrei Kozik, Gomeltransneft Druzhba First Deputy Director General, Chief Engineer. The document was signed by Gomeltransneft Druzhba Director General Oleg Pochinok and Ukrtransnafta Director General Nikolai Gavrilenko during the seventh session of the assembly and the board of the International Association of Oil Transporters (IAOT) in Minsk on 23 May. The agreement determines how the Belarusian and Ukrainian companies will proceed to ensure the accident-free operation of the oil pipeline and all its structures. Oil transportation recording, coordination of oil transportation modes, and other aspects are regulated as well. According to the source, the agreement had to be extended due to management changes in Gomeltransneft Druzhba and Ukrtransnafta. Apart from that, the Mozyr-Brody section is in need of regular repairs if reliable oil deliveries to European countries are to continue. Acting Chairwoman of the Belarusian state petrochemical concern Belneftekhim Valentina Krasnykh met with Nikolai Tokarev, Chairman of the Board, President of the Russian oil transportation company Transneft, on the sidelines of the IAOT session on 23 May. The sides discussed Belarusian-Russian interaction in oil transportation affairs. The International Association of Oil Transporters is a non-governmental organization that unites oil transportation companies. It was the first time the session of the organization?s assembly and board had taken place in Minsk. Gomeltransneft Druzhba acted as the host. The Belarusian company has been an IAOT member since 2015. The International Association of Oil Transporters also includes MERO CR (Czechia), Transneft (Russia), Transpetrol (Slovakia), MOL (Hungary), KazTransOil (Kazakhstan), and China National Petroleum Corporation (CNPC).Taking part in the session were also representatives of the Caspian Pipeline Consortium and PERN Przyjazn (Poland) as observers. Ukrtransnafta became a member of the association during the session.